## **Mayflower Primary School**

## **Committee Structure/Terms of Reference**

At Mayflower Primary School, the following committees are in place to oversee the strategic leadership of the school:

- Appeals
- Complaints from Parents
- Performance Management
- Pupil Discipline
- Staff Discipline and Grievance
- Staff Dismissal

Each committee is bound by Terms of Reference, which are reviewed and agreed at the beginning of each academic year. It is expected that all committees will meet at least once per term, but this can also take place as part of the School-Based meetings, which are led by the Head Teacher. Key staff can be invited to these meetings, as dictated by the agreed agenda.

Governors are allocated to committees and where possible, the skills, talents and interests they bring are aligned to the committees they are called to work on. Each committee has a chair, who will work in partnership with the Head Teacher to set and agree an agenda, where meetings are held outside of the school-based structure. Minutes will also be produced, and reported back to the Governing Body at the next available meeting.

The Committee Structure is as follows:

Committee	Structure	
Appeals	The quorum will be 3	
Complaints from Parents	All governors can be called upon except	
	the Chair of Governors. The quorum	
	will be 3.	
Performance Management	The quorum will be 2	
Pupil Discipline	All governors can be called upon except	
	the Chair of Governors. The quorum	
	will be 3, with either 5 or 3 governors	
	serving.	
Staff Discipline and Grievance	The quorum will be 3	
Staff Dismissal	The quorum will be 3	

Our 4 Working Groups also have Terms of Reference, with the following organisation for the academic year 2022-2023:

Committee	Chair	Members
Behaviour, Health and	Mrs. Sue Wright	Mrs. Sue Wright
Safety, and Attendance	-	Mr. Raja Khan
Curriculum	Mr. Imtiaz Patel	Mr. Imtiaz Patel
		Mrs. Aneesa Salleh
		Ms. Ama McKenley-
		Ballantyne
		Mrs. Shamim Ismail
Finance and Personnel	Mr. Zubair Adam	Mr. Zubair Adam
		Mr. Imran Patel
		Mrs. Sue Wright
Leadership and	Mr. Kishan Bhogaita	Mr. Kishan Bhogaita
Management		Mr. Imtiaz Patel

The Head Teacher, Mr. Luke Whitney, will sit on all of the Working Groups, as required.

Some governors have specific responsibilities, as follows:

Child Protection: Mrs. Sue Wright

SEND: Mr. Imran Patel

Pupil Premium Grant: To be confirmed at our meeting on 23.11.22

Literacy: To be confirmed at our meeting on 23.11.22

Numeracy: To be confirmed at our meeting on 23.11.22

The Arts Faculty: To be confirmed at our meeting on 23.11.22

The Humanities Faculty: To be confirmed at our meeting on 23.11.22

The Social Sciences Faculty: To be confirmed at our meeting on 23.11.22

The School Improvement Plan is aligned with the Education Inspection Framework, with Key Milestones in each of the reporting areas. Each Working Group has a specific responsibility for an aspect of the plan, as well as the Self Evaluation that is carried out by the Leadership Team on a termly basis. The plan for 2022-2023 was presented to governors at their meeting on 21.09.22, and was duly ratified. Prior to this, governors had an opportunity to make an active contribution to the plan, and this was part of the formal consultation process.